Kiwanis - Serving the Children of the World
Serving the Children of the World



Over the years, the Kiwanis Club of Wheaton, its leaders and its members have been honored for their service to the community and the children of the world.  Here is a summary of some of those honors and awards. 

In the club's 2002-2003 service year, it was awarded the Elliott Trophy as the top Kiwanis Club in the Illinois-Eastern Iowa District for building a $250,000 safety city for Wheaton's youngsters. 




Amador Recipients


The Spastics Paralysis Research Foundation was organized in 1952. Its purpose is to provide financial grants to top level medical and scientific researchers specializing in spastic paralysis and other diseases of the central nervous system. Grant recipients are located in proximity to the Kiwanis Illinois-Eastern Iowa District whose members fund the foundation.

The I-I District in 1992-93 created the Luis V. Amador Medallion Award. This award allows a Divisional Council to extend special recognition to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service within his or her community.

Jim Brand *

Gene Piraino *

Marty Jepson

Al Kressner *

Dave Pugsley

Mary Lubko *

Dan Fapp
Howard Wonser
Dan Hurd
Allen Reed

* - Deceased

Hixson Fellows

The Kiwanis International Foundation Board of Trustees created the George F. Hixson Fellowship in 1983 to honor the first Kiwanis International President.  Funds received for a Hixson Fellowship are designated to the Kiwanis Children's Fund.  Individuals establish membership through a $1,000 contribution to the Kiwanis International Foundation.  Diamond-level status is attained by Hixson Fellows who make additional $1,000 contributions.

Bill Andrle *
Bill Hackett **
Jim Smith
Bill Klein (D)
Claude de St Paer *
B.A. Fred
Bill Gosling **

Dan Hurd (D)
Al Kressner *
Nick Riggio *
Fred Tyrrell*
 John Votaw (D)

Jean Watt *
Bill Wetteroth

(D) – Diamond Status

* - Deceased

** - Former Member with Honorary Status